Welsh Baccalaureate


The Welsh Baccalaureate at Chepstow adds a valuable new dimension to subjects and courses you can follow between the ages of 14 to 19.

It encourages independence and adds ‘real life experience’ to the curriculum.

WBQ Features

No examinations
2 year programme
Variety of learning activities (discussions, group work, outside speakers, presentations etc.)    
Portfolio based assessment

The Qualification

The Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification consists of two parts:

Core – consisting of five components i.e. Essential Skills Wales/Wider Skills, Wales, Europe and the World, Work-related Education, Personal and Social Education and the Individual Investigation.

Options – courses / programmes currently offered Advanced Subsidiary / Advanced (AS / A levels), BTEC.

Together, the Core and Options make up the Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification.

Advanced Diploma

Studying the Advanced Welsh Baccalaureate diploma at Chepstow gives you a broader experience at Key Stage 5, equipping you for the world of work, lifelong learning and making you more knowledgeable about the world you live in.

In achieving the qualification you can gain 120 UCAS points by combining personal development skills with established qualifications like A Levels, NVQs and GCSEs. The Welsh Bac is a wider award that is valued by both employers and universities.

Intermediate Diploma

At intermediate level you will undertake the core elements of the Welsh Bac, delivered through the pastoral programme in combination with other subjects.  The intermediate level will allow you to obtain the equivalent to 3 GSCE grades A*- C.

Useful Link