Young consumers up for national finals

Team to travel to London in June

A team of Sixth Form students from Chepstow School are through to the UK Final of the Young Consumers of the Year Competition – a national consumer education competition.

Team members Eleri Williams, Clara Zorab, Merrick Stanley and James Wooster,correctly answered a variety of challenging questions on subjects including Consumer Rights, Credit and Finance and Protecting the Public to reach the UK final.

The Young Consumers competition, now in its 29th year continues to go from strength to strength in Wales.  This year, nine schools representing different counties around Wales, took part in the Welsh finals of the competition which were held at Cardiff City Stadium on March 19th.

Five schools were eliminated in heats, culminating in a four team final between Chepstow School (representing Monmouthshire) Porthcawl Comprehensive (representing Bridgend), Ysgol Uwchradd Bodedern (representing Anglesey) and St Alban’s School (representing Torfaen).

In a tense finish, the team from Chepstow finished a close second to Porthcawl School and both teams will now go on to represent Wales at the UK Final of the competition in London in June.  In the UK finals, they will face the best teams from England and Scotland.

Mr Elias, Teacher of Business and Economics at Chepstow School said “These four students deserve the highest praise, having reached, and competed so well in, the Welsh finals.  Hundreds of schools from across the UK take part in this challenge each year and our four students from Chepstow have done exceptionally well to reach the UK final.”

Chair of Wales Heads of Trading Standards, Matthew Cridland, was impressed with the performances of the competitors: “These students had a diverse knowledge of consumer related topics and were able to answer tricky legal and financial questions which would have put most adults to shame.”

Left to right:

Mr Aled Elias (Teacher of Business and Economics at Chepstow School), Eleri Williams, Clara Zorab, Merrick Stanley, James Wooster, John Prosser (Chairman Monmouthshire County Council).